Memories of Julian: A Celebration of the Centennial of the Birth of Julian Schwinger


Monday, February 12, 2018, 4:15pm


Jefferson 250, 17 Oxford Street, Cambridge

Please join us in celebrating the centennial of the birth of JULIAN SCHWINGER with a Special Colloquium:

A panel discussion, moderated by Prof. Howard Georgi, will include the following speakers:

- Sheldon Glashow (Arthur G.B. Metcalf Professor of Mathematics and the Sciences, Boston University)

- Walter Gilbert (Chair of the Society of Fellows Carl M. Loeb University Professor, Emeritus, Harvard University)

- Roy Glauber (Mallinckrodt Research Professor of Physics, Harvard University) (to be confirmed)

- Daniel Kleitman (Professor of Applied Mathematics, Emeritus, MIT)

Julian Seymour Schwinger (February 12, 1918 – July 16, 1994) was a Nobel Prize winning American theoretical physicist. He is best known for his work on the theory of quantum electrodynamics (QED), in particular for developing a relativistically invariant perturbation theory, and for renormalizing QED to one loop order. Schwinger is recognized as one of the greatest physicists of the twentieth century, responsible for much of modern quantum field theory, including a variational approach, and the equations of motion for quantum fields. He developed the first electroweak model, and the first example of confinement in 1+1 dimensions. He is responsible for the theory of multiple neutrinos, Schwinger terms, and the theory of the spin 3/2 field.

Schwinger was a member of the Harvard Physics faculty from 1945 to 1974, since 1966 as the Eugene Higgins Professor of Physics. In 1965, he was jointly awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics with Richard Feynman and Shin'ichirō Tomonaga "for their fundamental work in quantum electrodynamics, with deep-ploughing consequences for the physics of elementary particles."

Learn more about Memories of Julian: A Celebration of the Centennial of the Birth of Julian Schwinger.